First Email in MTC Part One

June 25, 2015

So I guess I’m just going to write a letter of all things MTC because as many times and as many people as I asked about stuff…I never felt like I understood anything at all!

Day 1:

You know how in the Scooby Doo movie once the monsters take over the bodies of the humans on Spooky Island they have to go through that seminar on how to be socially acceptable? Well, the entire time I was walking through the MTC Campus that is exactly the vibe I was getting. I had just finished my crying, ya know, and everyone else is walking in twos saying “Welcome to the MTC” to their left and again “Welcome to the MTC” on their right, not even four seconds later. It’s overwhelming at first, but by the end of the day it winds down a bit and it’s not quite so overwhelming. I think the best part is probably that everyone else knows your name. Learning everyone’s names was fairly easy, although it did take a few days for me to learn my own.

Day 2:

I didn’t even know what was going on. Thankfully, no one else did either. We did meet with our Branch President though. He and his wife are so awesome! We got our assignments and surprise surprise, Sister McNeely and I are the Music coordinators. How does this always happen?! So here’s my rundown of all my peeps here:

Elder Rumsey is from Rigby and he’s going to Boston. He had two goats, Nanny and Peep, but had to sell them before leaving. Yes, he cried. Also, he’s addicted to Altoids. No joke. He’s our District Leader.

Elder Clare is from Arizona and he’s also going to Boston. He’s very talented at flaring his nostrils and calls Fanta, Fauna. Seriously, who says it like that?

Elder Jensen is from Utah and he’s coming to Hawaii with me! When he was little his mom washed all his tighty whities with some of her red clothes so he had pink cheeks until he finally grew out of his underwear. He and Elder Wescott are the Zone Leaders.

Elder Wescott is also a Bostoner and he’s also from Utah somewhere. A few days ago he woke up in the middle of the night and his arms were asleep. More scary than funny, but he did accidentally drop his arm on his face while trying to regain feeling, so that’s pretty great!

Elder Matson is from Leadore, Idaho (What thuf….) He graduated with 8 other people from a high school of 20 kids, where his aunt is the lunch lady and his dad teaches science. My dream life folks (and for the record, Carlsen Clan, everyone here says it exactly like I do!)

Elder Duke is from Colorado and he is thee coolest. I love him a lot and can’t wait to see him in Hawaii sometime in the next few months.

Sister McNeely is my companion! She’s from Layton and is gong to the Richmond Virginia along with the rest of the sisters in our district. Yup, I’m the loner. Her preferred stall is the middle one. It makes her feel the most safe.

Sister Lawson is from Colarado, too! Our teacher Brother Nielson, AKA the future Prophet, accidentally called her Sister Matson the other day and I almost died. Except no one else responded so instead I just looked like I had this awkward crush on Elder Matson because I’d been staring at him with an idiotic smile for like 12 seconds. Later though, we talked. Everyone else heard it too, thank goodness! Sister McNeely says it was revelation. Sis Lawson and him are gonna get married one day! We laughed pretty hard about it. Then later that night President Judd called me Sister Clare. I know God gives us miracles every day because without Him, I don’t know how I would’ve held my composure! In our residence when we were going to bed, we were talking about how on earth Bro Nielson mixed up Lawson and Matson. I in my wisdom said, “Well, you both have a son…” Brilliant, aren’t I? Yeah, too bad it was accidental joke! Oh well, it was funny today.

Sister Hall is amazing. She’s from California. She’s tall and super good at sports, no surprise there. She keeps us in line! Mostly just be being a great example. I really love her. 🙂

and me.

Day 3: 

Yeah, we still didn’t know what was going on. But that’s okay! We have lots and lots of fun. 9 hours of class time…who wouldn’t!? I got a package and felt super special (thanks Kate), so that was good.

Day 4:

Saturday was hard for me. We taught our first “investigator” and it went so well! But Sister McNeely and everyone else seems to feel the Spirit 100% of the time. I feel good pretty much all the time, but I just didn’t understand what they meant by it. Like most other things I struggle with, I think it has to do with a difference in definition. We had a good talk about it and I’m feeling better now! Sorry Mom and Kate if I made you worry a little bit! Also I found a great scripture on that…3 Nephi 9:20. (This is in the Book of Mormon.) Such a comfort.

“And ye shall offer for a sacrifice unto me a broken heart and a contrite spirit. And whoso cometh unto me with a broken heart and a contrite spirit, him will I baptize with fire and with the Holy Ghost, even as the Lamanites, because of their faith in me at the time of their conversion, were baptized with fire and with the Holy Ghost, and they knew it not.”

Day 5: also known as Funday 🙂

Sunday is the best! Since then, time has flown by. People were NOT even exaggerating. Our meetings were exactly the pick me up I needed after my super rough Saturday.

Well, I’m out of time, but I’ll finish this MTC inventory eventually! I can’t send pictures today, but I will soon. It’s hard to tell sometimes, but I’m sure I’m learning a lot! A watched pot never boils, right? Basically, I’m doing great, believe it, so you better be too. I love you all soooooooooooooo much and I pray for you everyday. Multiple times actually. So if you feel sad, don’t, because I’m thinking of you always. 🙂

Aloha, Aubrey

One thought on “First Email in MTC Part One

Leave a Reply

