One last time

12 December 2016

Not going to write much today. I’d rather just talk, that’s why.

They sang Aloha ‘Oe to me in Makawao ward sacrament meeting. I didn’t cry. I think because (other than I can’t sleep at night for stress) I don’t feel like I’m leaving. Today sister Page asked me at lunch, “Do you want to go home?”

Not in a mean way at all. She asked because I asked Brother Page if he could set up a date for us to have dinner with a certain family in the ward. A dinner that I won’t be there to attend. It’s so odd to be planning for things that I won’t be able to see through in person. Meeting people and teaching people whom I won’t be able to see through in person. It’s painful. And the rough part is I don’t think I will realize exactly how painful until a few days past my expiration.

I am so grateful to be a missionary. I am so incredibly humbled to know that I have been hands with which God has touched hearts and changed lives. Most remaining unbeknownst to me throughout the rest of mortality. But I know he didn’t send me here for nothing, and I trust, hoping in the surest sense, that I have been able to make a difference for someone in a way that no one else could.

A verse that touched me this week at MLC on O’ahu:

1 Corinthians 3:I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.

So much aloha,

[for one last time], Sister Carlsen

img_1924

 

 

One thought on “One last time

  1. Welcome home Aubrey! You have served well and have made a difference to many and mostly to yourself. Cenia and I have enjoyed reading your blog. You have been fun to read and to see your growth in serving and understanding the Gospel. Grandpa George Carlsen always said the mission is to build the missionary. Another thought I just had was, Gordon B Hinckley said that the speakers at sacrament meetings, no matter how good or bad, the reason for sacrament meetings is to partake of the sacrament. Since I’m to speak on Sunday 25 Dec. I’m gratiful to know what I say isn’t so important as partaking of the Sacrament, especially on Christmas Day.
    Re-enter the world slowly, continue being a missionary and serving. Our Love and Best to you Aubrey in all your future endeavors.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

