infinite and eternal

I love so much reflecting on the Atonement of our Savior and brother, Jesus Christ. I have always known that I do not understand the least bit of it, but I am grateful that I don’t know it all because, being human, I reckon if I was foolish enough to feel like I knew enough about it already, I might stop looking. A true pity, since exploring, and trying to understand, over and over again never ceases to bring me to greater places of light.

This week in class as we spoke of the loving sacrifice Christ completed for us. It was good for me then. And even better for me to remember today.

There are many ways for us to attempt to comprehend all that Christ endured for us then—and continues to endure for us now as he watches from above, what I am sure at times an excruciatingly painful movie reel, cheering for us to make the decisions to bring the realest kind of happiness.

Point is, I have been reminded and enlightened to understand what exactly is meant by the words “infinite and eternal.”

If Christ already suffered it all, what’s it matter if we do the wrong or not?

Well here’s the thing: “all is as one day with God, and time only is measured unto men.” [Alma 40:8]

Christ’s infinite and eternal sacrifice, by definition, affects everything at once. Backwards and forwards, if you will. It is my belief that the inverse is true, also: The decisions that I make now, for better or for worse, have an effect, for better of for worse, on the agonies felt by our Savior in the Garden of Gethsemane those many, many years ago [now], and our Heavenly Father, too (whose job was to inflict that punishment on His one and only son, the one and only who never did anything to require the bitter, necessary, unavoidable justice and wrath as consequence of sin. No walk in the park).

So my answer to the question, “What’s it matter if we do the wrong or not?” It matters because my feeling is that the more good we choose to do today and tomorrow, and the less bad we choose to do today and tomorrow, the more joy and less grief and pain we cause for our brother and Savior, and our Heavenly father, those centuries ago.

Take it for what it’s worth, knowing that understanding in this way has made all the difference for me.

Aloha, Aubrey

A song: “Now Let Us Rejoice”

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B62RUgIA0NB2cjNLRXJ1bHlLT1k/view?usp=sharing

 

One thought on “infinite and eternal

Leave a Reply

