Simple

Many of the most enlivening and rewarding ballet classes that I have ever had are the ones where we danced nothing but the simplest of technique. The barre combinations were easy enough to remember that not too much mental effort had to be spent on which moves and positions came next. Instead, focus could be devoted to perfecting all the small yet infinitely important details. The details that make all the difference.

Those classes made me sweat and tremble more than any others, and the day or two following? Huuuuuui. That kind of sore was thee best kind of feeling.

My purposes for sharing are these: 1, I’m trunky for my dancing days. And 2, simple and easy are not synonyms. In fact, oft times the simplest, most basic, irreplaceably foundational things are the hardest, most taxing things, too.

When I got back from my mission I was positive that I was familiar enough and confident enough to be able to receive, recognize and understand revelation.

Jokes! Simple, yes, but not easy. And the past few weeks, as my mission has gradually become less and less recently past, I have gradually become more and more anxious, realizing that maybe I haven’t been adjusting as smoothly as I originally thought. Maybe I’m not as proficient at receiving revelation as I thought.

Decisions in the mission field are more clear-cut. It’s not hard to know when you’re doing the right thing, and when you’re not. Outside the mission field, however, as I have sought to discern answers, I have been reminded that this is not always the case. Oh how I sometimes wish I could do away with my tendency to over-analyze all things… nah.

I wouldn’t change it for the world.

I have long perceived overthinking as a blessing and a curse, a strength and a weakness, so for this I am grateful that God has provided means for us to cope with, and one day transform those weaknesses into something greater.

This week my comfort and assurance came from God through a beautifully simple priesthood blessing. One so perfectly simple that there was no risk for an over-analysis. The overarching counsel was this: God loves me, my family loves me, and I will be able to know God’s chosen path for me by the power of the Holy Ghost.

By the power of the Holy Ghost I will know.

God is so perfect. I am grateful for his patterns and consistencies. I am grateful for the way one gospel principle can be the answer to begin to bring relief for every possible burden we have to give to Him.

Forever acknowledging that receiving revelation from the Holy Ghost will not always be an easy process—I am grateful that even the most complicated struggles have simple solutions.

“Therefore we did pour out our souls in prayer to God, that he would strengthen us and deliver us… Yea, and it came to pass that the Lord our God did visit us with assurances that he would deliver us; yea, insomuch that he did speak peace to our souls, and did grant unto us great faith, and did cause us that we should hope for our deliverance in him.”

Alma 58:10-11

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B62RUgIA0NB2bjU1WE5IS0owdm8/view?usp=sharing

Until then, we just have to be patient enough to continue on with the small pieces of light we already have. Step by step.

Aloha, Aubrey

Leave a Reply

